Publications and Recognition


Night in Erg Chebbi and Other Stories, University of Iowa Press, 2015 | Winner of the 2015 Iowa Short Fiction Prize and the Colorado Book Award |  More about the book

“Borealis,” American Fiction, November 2017 | Finalist for the American Fiction Award

“Windfall,” Carve Magazine, October 2017 | Raymond Carver Award Editor’s Choice

“Kaat,” Ploughshares Solos Omnibus, Volume 5, October 2017

“Kaat,” Audible audiobook, released 6/17/2017 |  Listen

“Kaat,” Ploughshares Solo, 5/10/2017 | Download ‘Kaat’

“Night in Erg Chebbi,” Colorado Review, Volume 40, #3 | Winner, Nelligan Prize | Read “Night in Erg Chebbi”

“The Release,” Chicago Tribune Printers Row Journal, #83 | Runner-up, Nelson Algren Award

“Nothing to Declare,” Literal Latte, Autumn 2017  |  Read “Nothing to Declare”

“Comrade Dog,” fixional, 7/14/2017 

“Old News,” fixional, 7/14/2017

“A Small But Perfect Happiness,” Missouri Review, Spring 2017

“After Dreamland,” Colorado Review, Summer 2016 | Read “After Dreamland”

“Scribe,” Tiferet, February 2016 Issue

“Justice,” COG, issue #2 | Read “Justice” in COG

“Indígena,” Missouri Review, Spring 2015

“The Armorer’s Riposte,” Turk’s Head Review, 3/28/14

“Light Year,” Tupelo Quarterly, #4, July, 2014 | Read “Light Year”

“Save Mary,” Chicago Tribune Literary Supplement, Printers Row Journal, 12/21/2014

“Caterwaul,” Chariton Review, December 2014

“Phone Phone Gun,” Cobalt Review, 6/10/2013 | Read “Phone Phone Gun

“Boy, Unleashed,” Bellevue Literary Review, Volume 12, #2 | Nominated for a Pushcart Prize

“The Italian Afternoon,” In Digest, 12/6/2012


Night in Erg Chebbi and Other Stories wins the 2015 Iowa Short Fiction Prize | Final judge Karen Russell | More about the book

Night in Erg Chebbi and Other Stories wins the 2016 Colorado Book Award More about the book

“Grace” wins 2015 Top of the Mountain Book Award

“Night in Erg Chebbi” wins 2013 Nelligan Prize for Fiction | Final judge Jim Shepard

“Indígena” wins the 2015 NCW Short Story Award

“The Release” named runner-up for 2013 Nelson Algren Award

“Windfall” named Editor’s Choice in the 2017 Raymond Carver Short Fiction Contest

“A Small But Perfect Happiness” nominated for the 2016 Pushcart Prize

“Indígena” nominated for the 2015 Pushcart Prize

“Boy, Unleashed” nominated for a 2012 Pushcart Prize (Bellevue Literary Review)

“Tropicalia” selected as finalist for the Tucson Festival of Books Literary Award, December 2017

“Circus Minimis” named semifinalist for American Short Fiction’s Halifax Ranch Fiction Prize, September 2019

“Waiting for El Greco” longlisted for the Virginia Woolf Award for Short Fiction, March 2018

“Nothing to Declare” wins second place in the 2017 Literal Latte Fiction Awards

After Dreamland” (story collection) named finalist for the 2016 Flannery O’Connor Award for Short Fiction

“After Dreamland” shortlisted for the 2016 Bridport Prize, from 4,521 entrants

“Indígena” shortlisted for the 2014 Bridport Prize (UK)

“Borealis” named finalist for the 2016 American Fiction Award; published in American Fiction’s annual anthology in Fall 2017

“Borealis” named finalist for the Narrative Winter 2016 Story Contest

“One Child Policy” named finalist for 2014 Mary C. Mohr Editors’ Award | Judged by Stuart Dybek

“Waiting for El Greco and Other Stories” (story collection) named finalist in 2014 Press 53 Fiction Award

“Waiting for El Greco and Other Stories” (story collection) named semifinalist in Sarabande Books’ 2014 Mary McCarthy Prize in Short Fiction

“Light Year” selected by judge E.J. Levy as runner-up for the 2014 Tupelo Quarterly Prose Open

“One Child Policy” selected by Jill McCorkle as finalist for the Southwest Review’s 2014 David Nathan Myerson Fiction Prize

“Indígena” selected as finalist for Narrative’s Fall 2014 Story Award

“Indígena” selected as finalist for the Missouri Review’s 2014 Jeffrey E. Smith Editors’ Prize

“Waiting for El Greco” wins Honorable Mention for 2013 Cincinnati Review Schiff Award

“Nadia” wins Honorable Mention in 2013 Glimmer Train Fiction Contest